spoht
 Back
< Previous Stop
   Next Stop >

F5 SIDE TRAIL, CRICKLEWOOD, 54 Cricklewood Cres. Continue west on Royal Orchard Blvd, turn left at Inverlochy Blvd. arrive at Cricklewood Cres. This grand home began as a small cottage built in 1803 on a Crown grant from King George III. The grant was to John Dennis, and the first cottage was built by his daughter Elizabeth who later married Matthias Sanders. (see Side Trail A1) In 1844 Englishman John Brunskill bought the property (which included several mills along John St.) and made a substantial addition to the Dennis home. Brunskill prospered until his sudden death in 1870, when his holdings were divided. Prominent lawyer George Hughes Watson bought the property in 1910. His daughter inherited the estate, and son Strafford got the rest including what is now the Ladies' Golf Club of Toronto (founded by golf champion Ada Mackenzie in 1924). The house, first called 'Brooklands' was renamed 'Cricklewood' in 1956. When it became part of a townhome development in the 1970s, the house remained although much diminished in lot size. In 1980 it was designated a heritage property. It boasts five bedrooms, six fireplaces, 11-foot ceilings, and a couple of ghosts!

Cricklewood, 54 Cricklewood Cres.

To Cricklewood plaque and text
Click to view plaque and text
< Previous Stop
Next Stop >

 Back

© 2014 The Society for the Preservation of Historic Thornhill