spoht
 Back
< Previous Stop
   Next Stop >

9. MARTIN HOUSE STORE AND MUSEUM, 46 Centre St. The main trail goes east along Centre St. This Neo-Classical frame house was built by carpenter John Martin who originally came from Devon. Over a period of 50 years, he designed and erected a number of houses in the area. The best known example of his craft is the house that bears his name, built around 1845, possibly for his own family. It was erected on land granted to David Soules in 1805 by Lieutenant Governor Simcoe. It has achieved prominence more recently, as a unique shop devoted to dolls, teddy bears and other toys. The Museum inside displays vintage dolls from the 1800s.

The Martin House, 46 Centre St.
< Previous Stop
Next Stop >

 Back

© 2014 The Society for the Preservation of Historic Thornhill